Tags

, ,

doing-it-for-love-tour

DOING IT FOR LOVE

All About Love #1

Cassie Mae

Releasing September 29th, 2015

Loveswept

Cassie Mae’s charming, sexy new novel, perfect for fans of Emma Chase, puts a steamy twist on modern love as one bride-to-be tries to put the spark back in the bedroom—by any means necessary.

Elizabeth Fanning’s life looks pretty perfect, judging by the diamond ring on her finger. Her fiancé, Landon, is sweet, handsome, and hilarious. The trouble is, before they’ve even tied the knot, their sex life has gone from mind-blowing to “meh”—and Liz isn’t ready to be part of an old married couple. After a cathartic call to her best friend, Liz comes up with a brilliant idea. She and Landon may never be able to re-create the magic of their first time, but how amazing would their wedding night be if everything below the neck was off-limits until then?

Liz thinks it’ll bring them closer together. Landon’s convinced she’ll cave first. So they raise the stakes: Whoever lasts longer gets to pick their honeymoon destination. With her heart set on the Bahamas and Landon fighting for snowbound Utah, Liz simply has to win. But pretty soon, her body is screaming for attention, and Landon’s never seemed so far away. Has Liz’s experiment backfired? Losing their little competition would be frustrating—but the one thing she can’t afford to lose is him.

 

BUY NOW

Amazon | B

& N | iTunes | Kobo

My Review:

I’m pretty sure if you have been with me, reading my reviews, following me on Twitter and Instagram, then you know. You know how much I love Cassie Mae’s writing, how I have read almost all of her books but two and loved every single one and that is dedication. But with Cassie Mae it isn’t dedication for me, its stalking. I cannot tell you how many laughs this girl has gotten out of me, how many times I could not stop smiling because her characters were comedians in their own world and how many times I wanted to cry because I finished another fantastic book and had to wait for the next to release. And Doing It for Love was no different.

I went into the story blind because like I said earlier, I knew, I knew that it was gonna be amazing so why waste precious reading time? I didn’t bother with the synopsis when I logged into NetGalley and clicked the request button and waited until that jewel was into my Kindle. And then I devoured it and then I sat in my bed thinking over the book and then I re read it because that is what you do with Cassie Mae books.

What I loved most about Doing It for Love was that the story was about what happens after a HEA, instead of questions you get answers! Liz and Landon are engaged and are the cutest, most loving couple ever, however there is a catch – Liz thinks their sex life is meh and she wants it to be spiced up and get both their engines running like old times. She doesn’t want to have meh sex forever and especially not on their wedding day so she makes a proposal for no sex until their wedding. The stakes are set much higher when Landon thinks Liz will cave and so the winner gets to pick the honeymoon destination but the question is – who will win?

Its hard to explain how I felt about this book, with every other Cassie Mae book I will say my default answer because it is the only answer I have about her books – I loved it to death. Its vague, kind of, and sounds like a go to answer, which it kind of is too, but its true. I loved it. I loved Liz, I loved Landon, I loved their no sex rule and their trickery ways to get the other to cave in. I loved when they had problems they fixed them. But most of all I loved their love.

You could feel their love in the story, how much they meant to one another and how REAL it was. Gah I smiled at every move Landon made, how their meet-cute was established, and their chemistry is so damn likeable! Again I go back to the realness of their relationship, something Cassie is really good at, how they aren’t perfect. Landon isn’t a millionaire – he works at a call center, Liz isn’t a size two – she works at Bed, Bath and Beyond and eats chocolate like there is no tomorrow and wait for it …. she wears SPANX! These characters do stupid things like we do! They have flaws and make mistakes that are hilariously on point. Liz says so much jargon on this book that I don’t even know what she is saying but its funny and it makes her Liz.

I applaud Cassie for also incorporating how hard it is sometimes in a relationship, you can get mad at the smallest things such as Landon leaving his socks on the floor all the time. Or how not all couples are rich and successful in their work like Liz and Landon and where they have to make rules on spending, and spending money responsibility. Like I said earlier it is real, it isn’t just a story to be read but something we can learn from because throughout the whole debacle, Landon and Liz stay a team. They do not let anyone come between them whether its family, friends, or something as evil as money, they both know what each other wants and desperately tries to achieve for the other.

I can’t say much more about this book without full on gushing but to tell you readers to read the book. Read it and let me know what you think. Tell me what was you favorite Landon moment, how much Liz made you laughed till you could not breath and how many times you said, “Aww” cause I know you will (I said it about thirty times!). If this review doesn’t wholly convince you, keep reading for an excerpt and then get the book.

Thank you readers for reading, NetGalley for approving me for the book and to Tasty Book Tours for allowing me to be on this tour. I will have another blog post up soon,

Over and out.

Excerpt:

“Did you want a baby?” he asks, and my jaw drops.

“Huh?”

“It’s okay if you did. I . . . I mean, I want to have kids with you someday.”

Someday . . . yes. But not today. I grin at the scared-as-hell look on his face. That’s the great thing about the longtime relationship. I know his looks. I know his smiles, his frowns, his laughs. I reach to him, and his hand slips through my wet blond hair, hugs the back of my head, and pulls me into his shoulder. I lock my arms around his torso, ignore the sweet buzzing all over my stomach and heart and sides. His fingers massage my scalp as he rocks me.

“I like the idea of having a permanent piece of you,” I admit into his wet skin.

“You already have a permanent piece of me.” One of his hands slides down the length of my back. “Hell, you have the whole thing.”

“You know what I mean.”

“Okay . . . if you really want . . . I’ll impregnate you. Open up.” He pushes at my thighs, and I smack his shoulders.

“Pretty sure I want us to be married first. And I don’t know . . . older.” Like years ahead of us. We can barely afford to feed ourselves.

“You . . . you said married.”

“I did.”

I push back on his chest, and he scratches his dark hair. “Just letting you know I’m not freaking out about it.”

“This is not freaking out about it?” I say, circling my finger at his face. It could be the steam from the shower making it smoke red, but it sure doesn’t seem that way.

“I let it slide like it was nothing.”

“You did not.”

He growls, playfully nipping at my neck. “Well, I’m not freaking out,” he muffles against

my skin, creating goose bumps up and down my spine. “Because, you know, we’re in the spot.”

“Huh?”

“You know, the spot.”

“In the shower?” I laugh when his red face darkens a shade.

“No, I mean . . . I love you. And it’s not like I’m going to break up with you. And I’m pretty sure you want to be stuck with me.”

“You think we’re stuck? That’s ‘the spot’?”

“No. Shit, it’s coming out wrong.”

“I don’t even know what you’re trying to say.” I laugh, bending down to adjust the heat on the water.

“I’m saying there’s no reason for me to freak out because I want to marry you. I think, you know, we should get married.”

My hand stops dead on the tap, and I crick my neck to catch his expression. He’s gone from red wine to white in the blink of an eye, water dripping from his dark hair down his forehead, and he frantically wipes it away. Then he reaches for me, pulls me up against him, hiding his face.

“Um . . . what did you just say?” I croak, my heart suddenly beating out of my skull. A tidal wave rushes through my stomach, and my nails dig into his shoulders to make sure I’m not dreaming or something.

He slowly backs away from my neck, eyes wide as grapefruits. “I didn’t mean . . . oh shit . . . it wasn’t supposed to happen like this.”

He falls forward, pushing me against the cold tile and hitting his forehead on the wall near my cheek.

“What wasn’t supposed to happen?” I ask through a small laugh. Seconds ago, he was boasting about not freaking out, and now he’s gone bat crazy.

“I had it all planned,” he grumbles into the tile. The echoes bounce off my shoulder. “I even bought a suit. Outside patio dinner, clear night for stars . . . I was going to pull out all the romantic stops, and it just falls out when we’re in the shower.”

“Landon, are you being serious? I can never tell.”

“Because I’m never serious?”

“Pretty much, yeah.”

He lifts his head, eyes meeting mine, and a nervous twitch pulls at the corner of his mouth. “Will you marry me?”

My heart’s still thumping through my brain.

“The test was negative, Landon,” I try to joke, but it comes out wobbly. “You don’t have to—”

“I know.” His palms cradle my face, drops of water falling from his eyelashes. “Will you marry me?”

His misty lips make contact with my nose. I’m still trying to process if he’s serious or not.

“Really? This isn’t because of that pregnancy test, is it?”

“I was planning on asking a few weeks ago. Cross my heart, the ring’s been in this apartment for at least a month.”

My eyes flick back and forth between his, searching, searching, searching for a lie, a joke, a tease, something. But it’s all honesty and nerves and love. So much love I find myself slipping on the wall, losing strength in my knees.

“You are serious.”

“I love you, Liz. Marry me? Please?”

I feel a smile tug on my mouth. The water’s getting too cold to stay underneath, but my body temperature rises, my skin boiling under his touch. I grip his forearms, holding myself steady while he continues to cup my cheeks.

I love every bit of this man, every piece of his heart and soul and mind and body. So even though I wasn’t expecting it this way, even though I was just internally moaning about not getting any spontaneous loving, I practically shout my answer at him.

“Yes.”

“Yes?” He pulls back, the stream of water hitting him square in the face. I laugh and bat it away from him. “Yes . . . you said yes?”

“Yes, I said yes.”

A large relieved breath leaves his mouth before he presses it to mine. Landon’s arms circle my torso, pull me up against his now hot and slick body, and every ounce of disappointment I was feeling evaporates with the shower steam.

“I thought I royally botched that.” He laughs, and a wave of minty breath travels from his mouth to mine.

“You did,” I tease before closing the gap between our lips again. “But I love you.”

a Rafflecopter giveaway

//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Cassie Mae (who dons the name Becca Ann on occasion) is the author of a few hundred—okay, maybe not that many—books. Since writing her bestselling debut, Reasons I Fell for the Funny Fat Friend, she has published books with Random House, SwoonRomance, and Tulip Romance. She has a favorite of all her babies, but no, she won’t tell you what it is (mainly because it changes depending on the day).Along with writing, Cassie likes to binge-watch Teen Wolf and The Big Bang Theory. She can quote Harry Potter lines quick as a whip. And she likes kissing her hubby, but only if his facial hair is trimmed. She also likes cheesecake to a very obsessive degree.

31e0e-button

Advertisements