Tags

, ,

Iron Kissed

Iron Kissed – Patricia Briggs

Release Date: January 2nd 2008

Ace: Urban Fantasy

321 pages (Kindle edition)

You can read this review and others on my Goodreads. (Don’t be shy to send a friend request as well! I have a review up for the first book in its series here and the second here. Be aware this will have some spoilers as it is the third in its series, read with caution!

I gave the last Mercy book, Blood Bound, 4 stars and this one definitely surpassed the previous! I loved this book, Briggs brought something to the book that not many authors can’t fully introduce and go though properly. I cheered and cried through the events Mercy went through and I loved Adam even more in this one. I really feel like Mercy has her sights on a certain werewolf over the other and I am very happy with her decision.

The last book focused more on the vampires in Mercy’s Tri Cities and one of her best friends Raphael, the vampire who needed her help in finding out a rogue demonic vamp who was on a killing spree. Mercy got through it and got some enemies but as always she came out on top. In Iron Kissed the fae are introduced – Zee, Mercy’s mentor, and a powerful fae has been taken into custody by his own kind for a crime he didn’t do after Mercy had been called in to help with mystery fae murders on the Walla Walla reservation, ending with her in the middle of it all. Mercy decides its up to her, as she is the only person to do it, to clear his name despite the more enemies she may make and the trials she will face.

I was excited knowing that this book was going to be set around the fae, getting to know why they are ruthless and dangerous creatures yet powerful and alluring in their own ways. Honestly, they did creep me out at times though I knew Mercy had it handled, especially since she had an Alpha werewolf practically in her backyard and a dominant and old love werewolf living in the room next to hers. The romance in book 3 continues to hit up and come near an end, though I don’t feel as if Mercy is stringing any of the guys along as they do as they please, trying to get her to pick.

Gah I love how intense this series gets as each book comes out! The fighting and world building only continues to get better. The antagonist are always my favorite part of the story being that I know for a face Mercy is going to kick some ass but the bad guy in this installment made me want to save Mercy and give her a big hug and never let go. Briggs went the extra mile with the hell Mercy had to go through in order to save Zee and maker sure her city/friends and family were safe. But that is what I love about Mercy, no matter the circumstance or how traumatized she may turn out, she knows she would do it again if the outcome was safe for everyone around her. I hated what she had to go through and though it is cliché – it made her stronger. Which is bad for the next antagonist because an even stronger and badass Mercy? Damn, I feel sorry for them.

The story only continues to go uphill as you begin the book so I highly, highly, recommend reading the series and get started on this awesome Mercy-fest! Overall I gave this book 5 stars and it probably my favorite of the series so far. Thank you readers for reading and I will have another blog post up soon.

Over and out.

